Phobias… I think I need a better title

Hi.

I’m scared of posting a post about phobias – is that ironic???

I wonder how many of you are familiar with the feeling of a knot of fear twisting and turning in your stomach, your heart beginning to beat faster, your mouth going dry and your hands going clammy…

These are all symptoms of phobias – an overwhelming/irrational fear of a person, place, object, feeling or situation, and they affect approximately 10% of the US population – you are not alone.

Fear can make a moth seem the size of a bull elephant

There are three types of phobias: specific phobias, such as the fear of spiders, are focused on one thing, like an animal. Arachnophobia is one of the most common phobias in the world. I used to have it too, until I went camping – there was a little spider crawling in my tent and I named it Wendy (I still can’t write that without laughing) and now I’m OK with them.

530

There are also social phobias e.g. the fear or public speaking. Glossophobia affects 75% of people, including me. It absolutely terrifies me, and no matter how much I do it (which isn’t very much to be honest) it only gets worse. I feel sick and I start crying and my legs shake so much I literally have to hold myself up, so if you have it too, hi. I can relate.But hey, I’m not scared of spiders any more – lets look on the bright side  . The last type is Agrophobia, which is the fear of being in an unsafe situation, with no way to escape and no one around to help  .

Phobias can be caused by a traumatic experience in your life, genetics (some people are born naturally more anxious than others) or they can be a response that your learned from a parent/sibling in early life. We are also all born with the fear or heights and loud noises.

The most important thing to remember, is that whatever you might be scared of, it is completely valid. If someone judges you for having that fear and thinks you are stupid for having it, please please please remember that you are not any less of a person than they are. And if you’re the person joking about what somebody else if afraid of a) you don’t know what they might have been through and b) there are better things to laugh about that won’t hurt anyone else.

It’s okay to be afraid. But don’t let that fear dictate who you are, or change what you can become.

Bye x

 

 

Leave a Reply

